Feldgrau helmet logo
Research on the German Armed Forces 1918-1945


  • Reichswehr-Brigade 12, 16 und 19 (Übergangsheer)
  • 4.Division (Reichsheer)
  • Traditions
  • See this Divisions organic components for traditions
  • History The 4.Division was formed in January of 1921 from the Reichswehr-Brigade 12, Reichswehr-Brigade 16 and Reichswehr-Brigade 19, all of the former Übergangsheer. The 4.Division was based in Dresden. The commander of the 4.Division also served as the head of the regional Wehrkreiskommando of the same number, in this case, Wehrkreis IV. It too was based in Dresden. There were seven Wehrkreiskommandos in the Reichswehr, each one relating to a specific Reichwehr division, numbers 1-7. The commander of each thus served a duel role as the commander of the Wehrkreis and the commander of the division in question.

    In 1934, during the transition period of the Reichswehr into the Wehrmacht, all seven Wehrkreiskommandos were upgraded into Korp formations with the commander being transfered to serve as the CO of each. Thus the divisional formations of the original seven divisions ceased to exist, while their organic units were used as the basis for the formation of a series of 21 totally new divisions. The 21 Infanterie-Reigmenter of the Reichswehr aided in the formation of 42 new Wehrmacht Infanterie-Regimenter, two being an organic part of each of the newly formed 21 Infanterie-Divisionen. At first, each of the newly formed 21 Infanterie-Divisionen were known by cover names to prevent troubles with Germanys detractors, but later in October of 1935, all cover names were dropped when the formation of the Wehrmacht and its new units was made public.

    Thus, for the exact transitions and lineages of the 4.Division into the Wehrmacht, please see this units specific organic components - the Reichswehr 4.Division itself ceased to exist as of October of 1934.
    Organic Components
    Infanterieführer IV
    10.(Sächsisches) Infanterie-Regiment
    11.(Sächsisches) Infanterie-Regiment
    Artillerieführer IV
    Pionier-Bataillon 4
    Nachrichten-Bataillon 4
    Kraftfahr-Abteilung 4
    Sanitäts-Abteilung 4
    Reichswehr Gruppenkommando 1