Feldgrau helmet logo
Research on the German Armed Forces 1918-1945

  • Various alarm and school units
  • Fallschirm-Jäger-Division Erdmann
  • 7.Fallschirm-Jäger-Division
  • Campaigns
  • Western Front 1944-1945
  • History The 7.Fallschirm-Jäger-Division was formed in September 1944 near Venlo from Fallschirm-Jäger-Division Erdmann. The regiments of the new division did not change their designations until 11.25.44, and they operated initially with their old names.

    In January, 1945, the division fought in the region of northern Alsace before being transfered north, where it later capitulated to British forces in the Oldenburg area, in May 1945.
    General Composition
    Fallschirm-Jäger-Regiment 19
    Fallschirm-Jäger-Regiment 20
    Fallschirm-Jäger-Regiment 21
    Fallschirm-Panzer-Jäger-Abteilung 7
    Fallschirm-Artillerie-Regiment 7
    Fallschirm-Flak-Abteilung 7
    Fallschirm-Pionier-Bataillon 7
    Fallschirm-Luftnachrichten-Abteilung 7
    Nachschubführer der 7.Fallschirm-Jäger-Division

    Added later were the following units:

    Fallschirm-Granatwerfer-Abteilung 7
    Fallschirm-Feldersatz-Bataillon 7

    Due to heavy losses, Luftwaffen-Festungs-Bataillone XXIV and XXVIII, were absorbed by the division on 2.20.45.
    Commanders GenLt. Wolfgang Erdmann cont from FJD Erdmann - 5.08.45
    War Service
    Higher HQ
    12.44 LXXXVI. AK / Fs.AOK.1 Brockhuizen, Venlo, Overbeck
    1.45 Reserve / Fs.AOK.1 Weissenburg, Hagenau
    2.45 LXXXVI. AK / Fs.AOK.1 Sessenheim, Geldern, Kleve, Reichswald
    3.45 II. FsAK / Fs.AOK.1 Marienbaum, Wesel, Bocholt, Enschede
    4.45 II. FsAK / Fs.AOK.1 Ostfriesland, Oldenburg